Skip to content

Please, No More Apps For That

November 22, 2009

There’s an app for that.

I’m tired of it. I am tired of hearing, “there’s an app for that”. Whether it be the commercials, or people simply mocking the phrase, it all needs to end. I don’t think it is the simple saying that annoys me as much as the tone and context that comes with it. We’ve all seen the iPhone commercials with the narrator providing instances of ‘complexity’ (oh, what to eat tonight?!), only to be solved by an iPhone app. Please, get over yourself.

There’s an app for that? Really? Thanks. Here is another tool that carries us further away from survival instincts we once had. I’m not talking about the days of hunting and gathering – that would just be ridiculous – but what about the simple task of asking someone a question; dare I see HUMAN interaction? “I can’t seem to find the nearest subway station! Oh, I’ll just spend five minutes searching for it on my phone!” I guess you could do that…OR, you could just as easily ask the hot dog vendor on the corner where it is. Something tells me he could help you out.

I know this song has been whistled before, about technology taking over and humans losing any and all intrinsic values, but it is healthy to take a step away every now and then to evaluate our current state. I admit, I have an iPhone. And yes, I have several applications that I look to (Shazam is phenomenal). However, an iPhone is seldom the first source I consult when put in a problem solving situation. It’s a great tool to have, but why go to the well when you already have water? You have a brain, use it.

I’m sorry. I hate the fact that I am representing myself as an advocate for simpler times and staying true to oneself. These aren’t my beliefs at all and I understand that the world is changing rapidly, but I want to implore the people who do rely solely on technology to function to STOP. Is there a soap box app?

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment